ICE Benchmark Administration (IBA) has an independent board comprised of Executive Directors and Independent Non-Executive Directors.

Independent Directors


André Villeneuve served as Chairman of the City of London’s International Regulatory Strategy Group from 2006 to 2012. He was Non-Executive Chairman of LIFFE (now part of Intercontinental Exchange), from 2003 to 2009. He was an Executive Director of Reuters from 1989 to 2000. He was Chairman of Instinet Corp., an electronic brokerage subsidiary of Reuters, from 1990 to 1999, and Executive Chairman from 1999 to 2002.

André was Chairman of Promethee, the French think tank, from 1998 to 2002, Non-Executive director of Aviva PLC from 1996 to 2006, Non-Executive director of International Financial Services London (IFSL) from 2007 – 2010, and Non-Executive director of TheCityUK from 2010 - 2012. He was also a Non-Executive director of IFRI (Institut Francais des Relations Internationales) from 2003 to 2009 and EuroArbitrage from 2003 to 2009.


Over the course of his career, Michel Prada has been deeply involved in and committed to matters of regulatory standard setting. He has been a leading proponent of the establishment of International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRSs) and led the effort to establish the Public Interest Oversight Board (PIOB) of the International Federation of Accountants (IFAC) in 2005. As a member of the Financial Crisis Advisory Group, Michel also advised the IASB and the US-based Financial Accounting Standards Board on their response to the financial crisis. On 1 January 2012, Michel began a three-year term as Chairman of the IFRS Foundation Trustees.

In 12 years as the Chairman of the Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF) and its predecessor body (1995-2008), he was an outspoken advocate for investor protection and global standards. During this time he served as Chairman of the Executive and Technical Committees of IOSCO and was a founding member of the Financial Stability Forum (now the Financial Stability Board). He attended the Institut d'études politiques de Bordeaux, and the Ecole Nationale d'Administration. He graduated from the University of Law and Economics in France with a Masters degree in Law.

Mary John Miller

Until September 2014, Mary John Miller served as the US Department of the Treasury's Under Secretary for Domestic Finance (March 2012 – September 2014) and was responsible for oversight of the government's fiscal operations and for developing and coordinating Treasury’s policies and guidance in the areas of financial institutions, federal debt financing, financial regulation, and capital markets.

Miller had previously served as Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for Financial Markets (February 2010 – March 2012), where she advised the Secretary on broad matters of domestic finance, financial markets, federal, state and local finance, and federal government lending policies. In this role, she was responsible for Treasury’s management of the public debt.

Prior to joining Treasury, Miller spent 26 years working for T. Rowe Price Group, Inc, where she was the director of the Fixed Income Division and a member of the firm’s Management Committee.

She received a BA from Cornell University and an MCRP from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Miller has also earned her Chartered Financial Analyst designation.

Rod Paris

Since 2004, Rod Paris has been a Board Director of Standard Life Investments. As Chief Investment Officer, a role he has held since 2007, he is responsible for the management oversight of all investment activities. As a consequence he brings to ICE Benchmark Administration a global breadth of expertise and understanding of the use of benchmarks from an investor’s perspective covering a wide waterfront of asset classes. His 30 years of investment management experience has been heavily anchored in global fixed income and currency markets. He is involved in a number of UK financial industry organisations at a senior level including the Investment Association and the Fair Markets Standards Board. He has a degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics from Keble College, Oxford (1978 – 1981).


Dame DeAnne Julius is chair of University College London, and an independent non-executive director of Jones Lang LaSalle (USA). From 2003-2012, she was chairman of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House, UK).

Dame DeAnne serves on the advisory boards of Temasek (Switzerland), Rock Creek Global (US) and the China Investment Corporation. She is vice president of the Society of Business Economists in the UK.

From 1997-2001, Dame DeAnne was a founder member of the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England. From 2001-2004 she served on the Court of the Bank.

Prior to joining the MPC, she held a number of positions in the private sector including chief economist at British Airways and Shell. She has been senior economic advisor at the World Bank and a consultant to the IMF and UNCTAD.

Dame DeAnne is a dual US/UK citizen. She holds a BSc from Iowa State University and a Ph.D in economics from the University of California.

In 2012, DeAnne was made a Dame for her services to international relations.