Module 2 of the International Oil Trader Academy : VIRTUAL DELIVERY

ICE Education and partners have combined their expertise to provide an innovative and practical programme covering all aspects of the physical crude oil, products and traded derivatives market through our market leading Oil Trader Academy.

With the global oil markets being subject to extreme volatility and change due to a series of geopolitical events, this is the ideal time and opportunity to understand the drivers of oil price movements and tools at your disposal to protect against and trade around your organisations market position.

Delivery Schedule Module 2:
Start Time: 08.00 London, 12.00 Dubai , 16.00 Singapore
End Time: 13.00 London, 17.00 Dubai, 21.00 Singapore

We provide three phases to the virtual courses:
1. Pre-course: Access to the ICE Education learning platform for on-demand primer content.
2. Live Virtual Sessions: Trainer led live video sessions (as per the outline below). These are short focused sessions with practical activity and, or, simulation throughout.
3. Post-course: On-demand content remains available and an optional live video clinic session is scheduled for one week post course for any learning points you'd like to revisit.
All course payments must be received one day prior to the start date

Download the course overview and agenda

Course Information

Price £2,500 + VAT
Duration 4 days
Location Virtual: EMEA/Asian Time Zone
Available Dates
Sep 13 2021  Register Now

Who Should Attend

Practical approaches are an important element of the Academy. For example, throughout Module 2 you will have access to a fully operational trading system and undertake a series of 'trading games' to help you gain first-hand experience and knowledge of applying the physical and paper concepts common to the oil trading environment. A very interactive course ideal for those working in roles linked to : refiners, economists, analysts portfolio managers, risk managers, operations managers, brokers and other related front, middle and back office staff.

Booking Information

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7065 7706

Course Content

Module 2: Trading Simulation and Managing Price Risk from 13 to 17 September (Break day on 15th)

Day 1:

- Derivatives:

The current supply & demand situation, the difference between forwards, futures, swaps and options and how they are used in the crude oil market. SIMULATION: Derivatives tutorial

- Trading Best Practice:

The various types of risk, how risk is measured and successfully managed by a trader. SIMULATION: Brent flat price

Day 2:

- Time Spreads:

What a forward curve is, the different types of market structure and how traders use time spreads. SIMULATION: Brent time spreads

- Cargo Price Exposures:

How crude oil is priced, what are crude differentials and lifting programmes. SIMULATION: Crude differential trading

Day 3:

- Trading Opportunities:

What geographical arbitrage is, the economics that need to be considered including chartering and how to hedge the associated price risks. SIMULATION: Global arbitrage

- Price Risk Management:

Being aware of the price risks connected with physical crude oil trading and how to manage them effectively. The difference between arbitrage and unwinding hedges. SIMULATION: Hedging tutorials

Day 4:

- Storage:

Why storage is valuable. Costs associated with storage. How storage can be optimised. SIMULATION: European storage optimisation

- Team Dynamics:

How a trader can make money from a physical crude oil portfolio including the importance of evaluating opportunities quickly, hedging appropriately and why teamwork is important. SIMULATION: Crude equity portfolio optimisation