Module 1 of the International Oil Trader Academy : VIRTUAL DELIVERY

ICE Education and partners have combined their expertise to provide an innovative and practical programme covering all aspects of the physical crude oil, products and traded derivatives market through our market leading Oil Trader Academy.

With the global oil markets being subject to extreme volatility and change due to a series of geopolitical events, this is the ideal time and opportunity to understand the drivers of oil price movements and tools at your disposal to protect against and trade around your organisations market position.

Delivery Schedule Module 1:
Start Time: 08.00 GMT, 12.00 Dubai, 16.00 Singapore
End Time: 14.00 GMT, 18.00 Dubai, 22.00 Singapore

We provide three phases to the virtual courses:
1. Pre-course: Access to the ICE Education learning platform for on-demand primer content.
2. Live Virtual Sessions: Trainer led live video sessions (as per the outline below). These are short focused sessions with practical activity and, or, simulation throughout.
3. Post-course: On-demand content remains available and an optional live video clinic session is scheduled for one week post course for any learning points you'd like to revisit.
All course payments must be received one day prior to the start date

Click here to download the course overview and agenda.

Course Information

Price £2,500 + VAT
Duration 4 days
Location Virtual - EMEA/Asian Time Zone
Available Dates
Sep 06 2021  Register Now

Who Should Attend

A course that blends concepts and examples of market fundamental supply and demand with the central elements of the traded physical oil market is designed to appeal to those new to oil trading, refiners, economists, analysts portfolio managers, risk managers, operations managers, brokers and other related front, middle and back office staff.

Booking Information

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7065 7706

Course Content

Module 1: Physical Crude & Products Trading from 10 to 14 May (Break day on 12th)

Live Trainer Led Virtual Sessions

Part One: How to analyse the Oil markets

  • Session 1

- Supply and Demand Drivers

  • Session 2

- The crude oil supply and value chain

  • Session 3

- Building a market view

Break

  • Session 4

- Identifying key sources of information

  • Session 5

- Putting your analysis toolkit together

  • Session 6

- Adding the technical perspective

Part Two: Introduction to Oil Markets and Trading

  • Session 1

- What is trading?

  • Session 2

- Contracts and Clauses

- Spot and term contracts

- Incoterms and transfer of risk

  • Session 3

- Quantity and Quality: key elements and trading tools

- Timing: delivery dates and contract performance

Break

  • Session 4

- Payment and Credit terms: when and how you get paid

- Legal clauses: jurisdiction and applicable law

- Prices: fixed and floating prices

  • Session 5

- Prices and Pricing

- Reference prices for crude and products

  • Session 6

- Market structure and prices: contango and backwardation

- Timing of the Price Formula: choosing dates

- OSPs and the Market

Part Three: Shipping

  • Session 1

- Basics of oil tankers and operations

  • Session 2

- Choosing vessels: acceptability and vetting

  • Session 3

- Hiring vessels: markets and terms

Break

  • Session 4

- Charterparties: spot and term

  • Session 5

- Key clauses: laytime, demurrage, options

  • Session 6

- Freight rates: lump sum, dollar per tonne, Worldscale

Part Four: Prices, Risk and Hedging

  • Session 1

- Understanding Price Exposure: Long and Short

  • Session 2

- Hedging: basics of protecting a position

  • Session 3

- Derivatives: Futures, Swaps and Options

Break

  • Session 4

- Brent Complex: CFDs, DFLs, BFOET and the rest

  • Session 5

- Products prices: outrights, cracks and spreads

  • Session 6

- Arbitrage: risks and strategies.