Emissions Market and Trading Programme: VIRTUAL DELIVERY

This live virtual training course, delivered over four sessions, will provide participants with a comprehensive knowledge of the major carbon emissions trading markets. The course focuses on the practicalities of carbon trading, i.e. what carbon is and how it is traded, but will also provide participants with an understanding of the regulatory framework underpinning the market. The goal is to deliver the broad picture of how carbon trading functions to professionals with various backgrounds. The course takes an in-depth look at the goals of emissions trading, the features of emissions markets, potential price implications of market news, organisations within the market, and the trading tools available.

Start Times Days 1 - 4: 09.00 London - 13.00 Dubai - 17.00 Singapore
End Times Days 1 - 4: 12.00 London - 16.00 Dubai - 20.00 Singapore

This virtual course is one of the ICE Education LIVE programs. We provide three phases to the course:
1. Pre-course: Access to the ICE Education learning platform for on-demand primer content.
2. Live Virtual Sessions: Trainer led live video sessions (as per the outline below). These are short focused sessions with practical activity and interaction throughout.
3. Post-course: On-demand content remains available and an optional live video clinic session is scheduled for one week post course for any learning points you'd like to revisit.
All course payments must be received one day prior to the start date

DECEMBER 2021 Course - NOW FULL: See below for more date options

Course Information

Price £1,600 + VAT
Duration 4 days
Location Virtual: EMEA/Asian Time Zones
Available Dates
Feb 15 2022  Register Now
Jun 07 2022  Register Now
Sep 27 2022  Register Now
Nov 14 2022  Register Now

Who Should Attend

  • New or experienced emissions, oil, gas, power and coal traders or brokers
  • Technical and financial staff in companies with an emissions exposure
  • Managers with responsibility for trading desks
  • Senior managers, lawyers, accountants and auditors who need to understand compliance with emissions regulations.

Booking Information

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7065 7706

Course Content

Session 1:

Introduction to Emissions Trading

  • UNFCCC and Kyoto Protocol
  • Paris Accord: Steps to Carbon Neutrality, 2050

The EU Emissions Trading Scheme

  • Principles of Emissions Trading
  • Rules and procedures
  • Targets for 2030 & 2050

Session 2:

Price drivers in the EU ETS

  • Supply & demand
  • Correlations with other energy commodities
  • Regulatory & political factors
  • Weather and macro-economic factors

Carbon Credits & Voluntary Markets

  • Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) and Joint Implementation (JI)
  • Voluntary carbon markets and corporate activity, the ESG impact
  • Carbon price analyses

Session 3:

Structure & Reform in the EU ETS

  • Measures introduced to balance the market: MRS/CPS
  • The 'Fit for 55' legislation
  • Shipping and the EU ETS
  • CER's and other carbon credits

Types of trade

  • Spot, Forward & Futures
  • Trading the Futures term structure
  • Using futures to hedge a power company's compliance exposure
  • Participating in the auctions

Session 4:

Global developments in Carbon Emission Schemes

  • ICE US Environmental markets
  • Emissions schemes in other countries: China, Korea, Japan
  • Other developments towards a global carbon price

Carbonomics

  • Themes of de-carbonisation and sustainable growth
  • Carbon sequestration, CCUS and technological developments