Oil Price Risk Management: VIRTUAL DELIVERY

This new virtual intensive and interactive course focuses on the price risks involved in trading oil on the international markets. This virtual course identifies the price risks involved and the use of exchange traded and OTC instruments in managing risk. You will compare the advantages and disadvantages of futures and OTC instruments and review the different trading procedures available and the profiles of the different hedgers in the market.

This virtual course is one of the ICE Education LIVE programs. We provide three phases to the course:
1. Pre-course: Access to the ICE Education learning platform for on-demand primer content.
2. Live Virtual Sessions: Trainer led live video sessions (as per the outline below). These are short focused sessions with practical activity and interaction throughout.
3. Post-course: On-demand content remains available and an optional live video clinic session is scheduled for one week post course for any learning points you'd like to revisit.

Start Times Days 1 - 3: 09.00 London - 12.00 Dubai - 16.00 Singapore
End Times Days 1 - 3: 13.00 London - 16.00 Dubai - 20.00 Singapore

All course payments must be received one day prior to the start date

Course Information

Price £1,600 + VAT
Duration 3 days
Location Virtual - EMEA / Asian Time Zone
Available Dates

Who Should Attend

  • Anyone who is affected by the changes in the international price of oil
  • Oil industry personnel working in supply, trading, risk management, refining, finance, transport, exploration and production
  • Oil trading and distribution companies
  • Energy-related government departments and regulators
  • Purchasing, planning, and finance departments in major energy consumers
  • Energy publications
  • Bankers, accountants, auditors and others associated with oil companies and oil financing

Booking Information

Tel: +44 (0) 20 7065 7706

Course Content

o 0830 - 0850: Technology check to ensure all technology is working and that all delegates have the required access

Day 1 (09.00 - 13.00)

  • Session 1: Industry structure
  • Session 2: Exposure to price risk, market structure
  • Session 3: Pricing Mechanisms
  • Session 4: Futures related pricing
  • Session 5: Types of company
  • Session 6: OTC instruments

Day 2 (09.00 - 13.00)

  • Session 7: Common types of swap
  • Session 8: Risk management with swaps
  • Session 9: Other risks, VAR, contractual risks
  • Session 10: Paper markets
  • Session 11: Exposure & time

Day 3 (9.00 - 13.00)

  • Session 12: OTC options
  • Session 13: Risk management strategies
  • Session 14: Participation swap
  • Session 15: Extendable & double up
  • Session 16: Exotic options and other building blocks